Clockwork Dagger Stories

Read on!

These short works, published through the Harper Voyager Impulse imprint, allow readers to delve deeper into the world of The Clockwork Dagger. These are available through all major online booksellers. The two stories and one novella are available individually as 99-cent ebooks, and are also be available as an ebook collection and a mass-market paperback.

Reading order

These stories are constructed to stand on their own, but it's unavoidable that they may contain some spoilers if you then proceed to read the novels. If that's a concern for you, here is the recommended reading order for the series:

  • The Clockwork Dagger (Novel #1)
  • The Deepest Poison: Story (though chronologically takes places months before The Clockwork Dagger)
  • The Clockwork Crown (Novel #2)
  • Wings of Sorrow and Bone: Novella (after Clockwork Crown)
  • Final Flight: Story (after Clockwork Crown)


Deep Roots

Deep Roots: A Clockwork Dagger Collection

An omnibus of three previously-published ebook-only works set in the world of The Clockwork Dagger. This includes two stories, Deepest Poison and Final Flight, and the Nebula-nominated novella Wings of Sorrow and Bone. Together, they produce a 208-page volume. Scroll down to read the full descriptions on each of their individual ebooks.

This is the first and perhaps only time these will be available in paperback. Grab it while you can!

$4.99 mass market paperback
$2.99 ebook

(note that all three stories will remain available individually at 99-cents each)

Amazon: paperback or ebook | Barnes & Noble: paperback or ebook | Kobo | Google Play | Apple Books

The Deepest Poison

The Deepest Poison: A Clockwork Dagger Short Story

Octavia Leander, a young healer with incredible powers, has found her place among Miss Percival’s medicians-in-training.

Called to the frontlines of a never-ending war between Caskentia and the immoral Wasters, the two women must uncover the source of a devastating illness that is killing thousands of soldiers. But when Octavia’s natural talents far outshine her teacher’s, jealousy threatens to destroy their relationship—as time runs out to save the encampment.

Fans of Beth Cato’s debut, The Clockwork Dagger, will love this journey into Octavia’s past—as well as an exclusive excerpt from the sequel, The Clockwork Crown!

Price: 99-cents

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google Play | Apple Books

Wings of Sorrow and Bone novella

Wings of Sorrow and Bone: A Clockwork Dagger Novella

After being rescued by Octavia Leander from the slums of Caskentia, Rivka Stout is adjusting to her new life in Tamarania. But it’s hard for a blossoming machinist like herself to fit in with proper society, and she’d much rather be tinkering with her tools than at a hoity-toity party any day.

When Rivka stumbles into a laboratory run by the powerful Balthazar Cody, she also discovers a sinister plot involving chimera gremlins and the violent Arena game Warriors. The innocent creatures will end up hurt, or worse, if Rivka doesn’t find a way to stop Mr. Cody. And to do that means she will have to rely on some unexpected new friends.

Price: 99-cents

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google Play | Apple Books

Final Flight story

Final Flight story

Final Flight: A Clockwork Dagger Short Story

Another breathtaking short story from the author of The Clockwork Dagger and The Clockwork Crown, set in the same world…

Captain Hue hoped he was rid of his troubles once Octavia Leander and Alonzo Garrett disembarked from his airship Argus. But he was quickly proved wrong when his ship was commandeered by Caskentian soldiers. He is ordered on a covert and deadly mission by the smarmy Julius Corrado, an elite Clockwork Dagger.

Now Captain Hue must start a mutiny to regain control of his airship, which means putting his entire crew at risk—including his teenage son Sheridan. As the weather worsens and time runs out, it’ll take incredible bravery to bring the Argus down….perhaps for good.

Price: 99-cents

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Kobo | Google Play | Apple Books